Zen Leaf West Virginia

Find a Zen Leaf location in West Virginia and discover local state resources for medical patients in the state.

Shop Your Local Zen Leaf

Zen Leaf West Virginia

Find a Zen Leaf location in West Virginia and discover local state resources for medical patients in the state.

Shop Your Local Zen Leaf

All Zen Leaf Dispensary Locations in West Virginia

Morgantown (COMING SOON)

Morgantown

205 Venture Drive

Morgantown WV, 26508

Resources for Medical Marijuana Patients in West Virginia

Learn how to become a medical marijuana patient in WV and find the answers to the most frequently asked questions about medical marijuana laws in the state so you are prepared to make informed decisions about treating your qualifying condition.

West Virginia Medical Marijuana FAQs

If you are interested in becoming a medical marijuana patient in WV, or if you have your card, you likely have questions about the laws and compliance while purchasing and consuming medical marijuana products. In these resources, we have compiled the most commonly asked questions we receive about medical marijuana in WV and their answers.
You can go to West Virginia’s medical marijuana website.

From there, you’ll need to:

  • Review the list of qualifying conditions
  • Identify a physician in your area (telehealth services are also available)
  • Apply for a medical cannabis card via the state portal and complete an application
  • Submit payment for the $50 patient ID fee (fees are waived for those who apply for financial hardship and are approved)
  • Applications are reviewed within 30-60 days
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Epilepsy
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Intractable seizures
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Neuropathies
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Severe chronic or intractable pain
  • Sickle cell anemia
  • Spinal cord damage
  • Terminal illness

Purchases can only be made at dispensaries licensed by West Virginia’s Bureau of Health.

To date, choices include:

  • Dermal patches
  • Dry leaf or plant
  • Liquids
  • Oils
  • Pills
  • Topicals
  • Tinctures

The state has not yet allowed for the delivery of medical cannabis products.

West Virginia’s medical marijuana laws do not include edibles. The lack of inclusion is due to the fear that children would mistake edibles for candy.

However, while dispensaries cannot sell edibles, it’s permissible for patients to make edibles within the safety and discretion of their own homes.

Patients (and caregivers) cannot possess more than a 30-day supply, as determined by the certifying physician. Patients, growers, caregivers, and physicians are protected by law as long as all parties follow the protocol of the medical marijuana program.

Cannabis consumption is prohibited in public, inside motor vehicles, or inside rented property in the state of West Virginia. It is illegal to operate motor vehicles, aircrafts, or watercraft while under the influence of cannabis.
A caregiver is an individual designated by the patient to obtain and deliver cannabis. A patient under 18 must have a parent or legal guardian listed as their caregiver.  A caregiver must be 21 and can serve up to five patients. Caregivers must undergo background checks and submit an application to the Bureau of Health.
Some wonder if it’s worth pursuing a card since recreational use may one day be legal in West Virginia. Firstly, there’s no telling when statewide recreational use will be legal. Secondly, a card gains a holder access to dispensaries anywhere in the state. Medical card holders are guaranteed the best grade of cannabis product, lab-tested and verified per state guidelines.

Resources for Medical Marijuana Patients in West Virginia

West Virginia’s medical marijuana program was passed into law in April of 2017. Lack of funding initially postponed the program, but legislation passed in 2019 addressed terminology, requirements, permits, schedules, and legal protection helped to further progress. The first medical cannabis dispensary in the state opened its doors in 2021.

Decriminalization efforts were rejected by voters in 2019. As the law currently stands, possession of (up to) 15 grams is labeled a misdemeanor, which carries a maximum sentence of six months in jail and $1,000 fine for first offenders.

West Virginia Medical Marijuana Links

The following companies are providing patient certification by telehealth:

STATES WHERE YOU CAN FIND ZEN

Discover your Zen!

Sign up for the Zen Leaf Newsletter for Updates, Discounts and Other News!