Choose a Store
You are shopping...
Choose a Store
You are shopping...
Cannabis laws are rapidly developing and changing, including the 2016 legalization of recreational marijuana in Massachusetts. Here is an up-to-date summary of some of the top cannabis questions and concerns within the state.
To receive a medical marijuana card in the state, you’ll first need to be diagnosed with a qualifying condition or illness. According to the Act for the Humanitarian Medical Use of Marijuana, state residents must possess a “debilitating medical condition” to receive a medical marijuana card. Qualifying conditions include cancer, HIV/AIDS, Crohn’s disease, hepatitis C, glaucoma, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis, as well as other conditions, as determined by the patient’s physician.
If you qualify, you’ll need to first seek out a doctor, nurse, or physician’s assistant registered with the Massachusetts Medical Use of Marijuana Program. This health care provider will perform an exam to determine whether medical marijuana is a suitable treatment. If they determine that you do indeed qualify, they’ll give you a PIN, which you’ll use to register on the Massachusetts Medical Use of Marijuana Program site.
In your application, you will need to include a government-issued ID, as well as a recent photograph.
You’ll need to visit the Massachusetts Medical Use of Marijuana Program site after you’ve received a PIN from a qualified health care provider.
If you have any questions about cannabis in Massachusetts, then you’ve come to the right place. We’ve answered some of the most common questions regarding the medical and recreational use of cannabis in the state.
Yes, as of 2016, cannabis has been considered fully legal in the state. Medical marijuana was first legalized in 2012, and in 2020, Massachusetts established a recreational cannabis program. Adults 21 and older can partake in recreational marijuana.
Until 2020, Massachusetts residents were required to pay a $50 fee to register for a medical marijuana card. However, this fee has since been lifted, and enrollment is now free within the state.
After you’ve been approved for the medical marijuana program, you’ll need to wait around two to three weeks for your card to arrive in the mail. However, even before you receive your card, you’ll be able to utilize the temporary recommendation you’ve received in its place.
To receive a medical marijuana card (without parental consent) in Massachusetts, the patient will need to be at least 18 years old. However, if a younger patient’s parent or guardian registers as a caregiver, it’s possible for qualifying patients under 18 to receive medical marijuana treatment.
You can find a directory of medical marijuana doctors in Massachusetts here.
No. To renew your Massachusetts medical marijuana license (which you will need to do every year), you won’t need to register with a new account.
If someone is actively using a medical marijuana card, then due to federal law, they cannot possess a firearm (including ammunition). However, although it’s an infrequent circumstance, individuals who possess a medical marijuana card but aren’t currently using or possessing marijuana are legally allowed to own a gun or other firearm.
Yes, any Massachusetts resident over the age of 21, whether they possess a medical marijuana card or not can cultivate a maximum of six plants. If the residence has two or more people, this number increases to 12 plants.
However, residents must keep their cannabis plants concealed from the public eye, as well as protected by a lock or another security device. Cannabis plants cannot be visible from any public location, according to state law.
Before the full legalization of cannabis, select medical marijuana patients in Massachusetts were allowed to cultivate plants. This was legally referred to as “hardship cultivation” and applied to medical marijuana cardholders without the means or resources to receive cannabis through a dispensary.
No, it is not legal to use medical marijuana for recreational purposes. Medical marijuana is intended to be used only by qualifying patients, as prescribed and overseen by a physician. However, recreational cannabis is legal in the state of Massachusetts.
In Massachusetts, medical marijuana prescriptions are based around a 60-day supply. This can entail up to 10 ounces of cannabis.
To start, in a public location, an individual is allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of usable cannabis. However, at home or in another private setting, recreational cannabis users can possess a maximum of 10 ounces of marijuana, as well as 5 grams of cannabis concentrate and six plants for personal use (or 12 plants, if more than two people are at the residence).
In Massachusetts, you will be able to find cannabis in a variety of forms, including flower, edibles, topicals, concentrates, and extracts.
Product testing of cannabis is strict in Massachusetts. The state has a strict pesticide ban, which includes organic pesticides. As a result, different types of cannabis products will face different testing procedures. Depending on the product (finished plant material, cannabis resin, cannabis concentrates, etc.), testing will focus on different contaminants; there is a set threshold for each contaminant.
State dispensaries offer a wide variety of cannabis strains to customers. This includes numerous indica, sativa, and hybrid strains, all with varying levels of CBD and THC.
Try speaking to one of the dispensary’s patient assistants. In some instances, they might be able to direct their cultivation team to grow the strain you desire. Of course, this won’t always be possible, but it is certainly worth it to ask and see.
Cannabis users in the state are not permitted to publicly consume or smoke any marijuana products. This rule applies to both medical and recreational cannabis use.
Medical marijuana must be used at a private residence, typically an individual’s home.
It is always a good idea to keep a close eye on your allotment history and regularly check it. Once too much time has passed, errors will no longer be correctable, so you must catch them early. If you ever find a mistake in your cannabis order, make sure to contact the dispensary as soon as possible.
To review the Massachusetts medical marijuana laws, you can check out this page on the state’s website.
Whether you are using cannabis recreationally or medically, it is never acceptable to operate a vehicle after use. If you are caught driving under the influence of marijuana (including medical), you could be charged with a DUI.
When an individual is caught driving under the influence of cannabis, they will receive a fine of no less than $500; however, this fine can be as high as $5,000 in some cases. The individual could also face a maximum of two and a half years in prison following their first DUI arrest. With each subsequent arrest, people convicted of DUI will face increasing fees and lengths of prison time.
Medical marijuana became legal in Massachusetts in 2012. This was thanks to the Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Initiative, which received 63% positive votes from state residents. With the passing of this legislation, state criminal and civil penalties were eliminated for cannabis possession, as long as that cannabis was being used to treat a qualifying illness or medical condition. In select hardship cases, users were also permitted to grow their own marijuana plants.
Still, the initial decriminalization of cannabis in Massachusetts occurred in 2008. This was a stepping stone toward the eventual legalization of medical (and later recreational) cannabis within the state.
Recreational cannabis use was legalized in 2016 for Massachusetts residents. This was due to the Massachusetts Legalization, Regulation, & Taxation of Marijuana Initiative, which narrowly passed with 53.59% of the residents’ vote.
When this law was passed, the rules and regulations relating to cannabis distribution and use became similar to those for alcohol. Still, retail sales of cannabis within Massachusetts did not begin until a couple of years later, in November 2018. Massachusetts then became the first East Coast state to allow all individuals over 21 years to purchase cannabis at a dispensary. As a result, the industry quickly became highly profitable.
There are a few reasons to consider seeking a medical marijuana card if you qualify in the state of Massachusetts.
For one, individuals with a medical marijuana card have a higher allotment of cannabis they can purchase and possess. It is also possible for a medical marijuana card to save patients money, as, unlike recreational cannabis consumers, they won’t need to deal with excise taxes. Additionally, if the individual is between the ages of 18 and 21, they cannot legally purchase cannabis for recreational use—however, they may still qualify for a medical marijuana card.