Choose a Store
You are shopping...
Choose a Store
You are shopping...
In Nevada, recreational cannabis use has been legal since 2016, while medical marijuana was initially legalized in 2000. If you want to learn more about cannabis use in Nevada, we’ve answered some of the most common and pressing questions you might have.
To receive a Nevada medical marijuana card, you’ll need to be diagnosed with one of the qualifying conditions. Worth noting is that the list of qualifying conditions and illnesses looks short, although this is misleading. Instead, there is a major caveat in this list, where any chronic or debilitating medical condition (as determined by a physician) can qualify an individual for a medical marijuana card. Unsure whether you qualify? Try speaking to your physician, as they will be able to provide you with their professional assessment.
To begin obtaining your medical marijuana card in Nevada (assuming that you qualify), you’ll need to create an account with the state’s Online Cardholder Registry. You will then be able to complete and submit an application request form, as well as attach a photo of your state-issued ID and a $25 fee.
Make sure to fully fill out your application once you receive it. You will then need to send it to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH), including written documentation from your physician. To submit this application, you will need to pay an additional fee of $75.
To begin applying for a medical marijuana card in the state, you’ll need to request an application through the Nevada Medical Marijuana Cardholder Registry. Your completed form will then be sent to the state Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
Do you have pressing questions about cannabis laws in Nevada, whether they’re recreational or medical? We have the answers to some of the most commonly asked questions.
Yes, actually. In Nevada, cannabis is both recreationally legal and legal for medical purposes. Medical marijuana was legalized in 2000, while recreational cannabis was legalized in 2016, following several failed attempts throughout the years.
Nevada adults over the age of 21 are legally allowed to possess and consume cannabis within the directed allotments.
During the application process to receive your Nevada medical marijuana card, you’ll have to pay two fees, totaling $100. First, to submit your application request form, you will be required to pay a $25 fee. Then, after you have received and completed this form, you will need to pay a second fee of $75.
Your card will need to be renewed every year. Each time you renew your Nevada medical marijuana card, you will need to pay another application fee of $75.
Once your application is received, it will generally take between 24 and 72 hours for it to be approved or denied. Then, within the next two weeks, the state will send you your medical marijuana card in the mail.
Qualified patients must be 18 years or older if they would like to receive a medical marijuana registry ID card without consent from a parent or guardian. However, minors under the age of 18 can still qualify. If the qualifying patient is under 18, they must have their guardian register as a caregiver.
This is currently outside the control of Nevada state law. Due to federal laws, an individual with a medical marijuana card is not permitted to own a gun or firearm, including ammunition. However, if the individual possesses a Nevada medical marijuana card that they are not currently using to purchase and consume cannabis, theoretically, they would be allowed to own a firearm.
When it comes to the personal cultivation of cannabis plants, Nevada is a bit stricter than many other states where marijuana is recreationally legal. Essentially, to be permitted to grow cannabis, the individual must live more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary.
This is in reference to the time at which the individual begins cultivating marijuana, however. If a new dispensary opens near a person’s residence after they’ve started growing cannabis, they are permitted to continue growing.
The number of plants a person can grow depends on whether they are a medical marijuana patient or a recreational user. For example, a medical marijuana patient is allowed to grow a maximum of 12 plants at any given time. On the other hand, a recreational user is only permitted to grow six plants—or 12 per household, if two or more people live at the residence.
It is important that any personal cannabis cultivation occur in a secure location, one that isn’t visible to the public. This location must feature a lock or other security device.
In any state where there is legalized medical marijuana (including Nevada), it is not acceptable to use medical marijuana recreationally. Instead, medical marijuana should only be consumed by the qualified patient that it was prescribed to, much like any other medication. It is also expected that anyone using medical marijuana will be under the active direction and care of a doctor.
Keep in mind that recreational cannabis is legal in Nevada. If you are an adult over the age of 21, you can legally purchase and consume cannabis for recreational purposes.
If you are a medical marijuana cardholder in Nevada, you’re permitted to purchase up to 5 ounces of cannabis each month. However, you cannot purchase more than 2.5 ounces of cannabis within any two-week period.
Adults over the age of 21 are permitted to possess a maximum of 1 ounce of usable cannabis at any given time. They are also allowed to possess a maximum of 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrate.
Nevada’s cannabis users, both recreational and medical, can choose from several forms of marijuana, including edibles, flower, concentrates, topicals, and extracts, which are all available for purchase in the state.
Cannabis products in Nevada must be tested for myriad properties and contaminants, even though facilities aren’t required to be ISO certified (as is the case for states like California). Nevada’s cannabis testing labs will always test for:
Nevada Gov. Steve Sisolak has even established a multiagency task force intended to crack down on corruption in the legal cannabis market. This task force is primarily focused on corruption and other illegal activity in cannabis product testing. For instance, the state has experienced issues with illegally high mold and yeast levels in cannabis products, as well as the inflation of potency levels.
To further minimize fraud within the industry, Nevada also utilizes a round-robin testing system.
Cannabis users in Nevada (recreational and medical, alike) can choose from a wide selection of strains, including various sativa, indica, and hybrid strains, all with different levels of CBD and THC.
Unable to find the strain you’re looking for at the dispensary? If this is ever the case, consider speaking with one of the dispensary’s patient assistants. Sometimes, patient assistants can ask their cultivation teams to grow a particular cannabis strain. Although this isn’t always possible, it’s worth it to ask.
According to the state’s public consumption laws, medical marijuana patients cannot use cannabis in public. Instead, individuals should only use cannabis at a private residence.
These same laws also apply to recreational cannabis users.
Yes, the state of Nevada has created a fact sheet on recreational cannabis use. You can view that document here.
No, it is never legal to drive after consuming cannabis; this is the case whether that cannabis was used for medical or recreational reasons. This is true for all states in the U.S.
If someone is found driving under the influence of marijuana, they may be arrested on DUI charges. When this occurs, the offender will not be permitted to use their medical marijuana card as a defense.
Even from the first offense (within a seven-year period), those arrested due to a cannabis DUI can face steep repercussions. This includes a fine of between $400 and $1,000, as well as between 48- and 96-hours’ worth of community service. Additionally, they may be required to participate in an educational course centered around the dangers of alcohol and controlled substance abuse. The offender will be required to pay for this course, as well.
With each cannabis DUI offense, the penalties and charges become more severe.
In Nevada, medical marijuana has been legal since 2000, when the Medical Use of Marijuana Act passed; this act is sometimes known as Question 9. However, it would be another 16 years before recreational cannabis was successfully legalized in the state, despite several failed attempts in the early 2000s.