Choose a Store
You are shopping...
In 2018, Michigan legalized the recreational distribution and use of cannabis products. However, the use of marijuana for medical purposes has been legal for even longer. So, whether you are new to cannabis or have lots of experience with it, we’re here to provide some essential information to help you learn or refresh your knowledge.
If you’re looking to obtain a medical marijuana registry ID card in Michigan, you’ll first need to be diagnosed with a qualifying condition or illness. Within the state, a variety of potential conditions can qualify a patient for their card. This includes (but isn’t limited to) cancer, HIV/AIDS, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), arthritis, obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), spinal cord injury, and inflammatory bowel disease.
Additionally, if a patient is affected by one of the following debilitating symptoms, they may also qualify for a medical marijuana card in Michigan:
To receive your card in Michigan, a qualifying patient will need to start by obtaining their own medical records. Then, you could either receive a written recommendation directly from your physician, or you can request your records from the doctor’s office.
As soon as you have your records, you’re ready to visit a Michigan medical marijuana clinic. You might be required to submit your records to the clinic in advance in the case of some clinics. A qualified doctor will review your records and perform a thorough exam to determine whether medical marijuana is the appropriate path to take.
Once you receive a written certification, you’ll be able to apply for your medical marijuana card. You can do this through the state’s site, or you can submit a paper application. To submit your application, you will be required to provide proof of Michigan residency, as well as a $60 application fee.
To apply, you can visit the state’s website to submit a digital application. You will need to create an account before being able to fill out and submit your application.
Cannabis law can be confusing and challenging to keep track of because they are so rapidly developing. So, we’ve answered some of the current most asked questions and concerns regarding cannabis (either medical or recreational) in the state of Michigan.
Yes, cannabis is now fully legal in the state. Medical marijuana became legal within the state in 2008, and recreational cannabis followed a decade later, in 2018. As a result, any Michigan resident (21 years or older) can possess and use cannabis on a recreational basis.
The Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act allowed cannabis dispensaries to begin opening and operating within the state.
To receive a medical marijuana card, Michigan residents will have to take several fees into account. First, most medical marijuana clinics will charge a $200 certification fee; there is also a $60 fee to apply. Second, you will need to renew your card every two years, and this involves paying a $150 fee.
Generally, you can expect your application to be approved or denied within 15 days. Within five days of the approval or denial, your medical marijuana card or denial letter will be issued.
If you submitted your medical marijuana registry ID application more than five weeks ago and have yet to receive a response, you will need to contact the Michigan Marijuana Regulatory Agency (MMRA) for assistance.
If you’re looking to obtain a medical marijuana card without a parent or guardian’s permission, then you must be at least 18 years old. However, qualifying minors can still receive cards; they will need to have a legal guardian register as a caregiver, however.
Searching for a qualified medical marijuana doctor in Michigan? Simply click here to get started.
If you’re renewing your medical marijuana card (which you will need to do every two years), then you should not create a new portal account. Instead, you will use the same account you created to apply for your card in the first place.
Due to federal law, individuals with a medical marijuana registry ID card may not own firearms, including ammunition. However, if the individual has a medical marijuana card but (for whatever reason) isn’t actively purchasing and using cannabis, then they would be legally allowed to own a gun or other firearm.
As long as the Michigan resident is either a medical marijuana patient or at least 21 years old, they are allowed to cultivate their own cannabis. However, there is a limit of 12 plants per residence, and they must be grown for personal use, not distribution. These cannabis plants must also be kept within a locked and enclosed space, away from the public eye. Cannabis plants should not be easily visible to the outside public.
No, it is never acceptable to use medical marijuana for recreational purposes. Keep in mind that medical marijuana is intended to be used only by qualified patients, and those patients must be under the care of a trained physician.
However, recreational use of cannabis is legal in Michigan, and it has been since 2018. Cannabis can be legally purchased and consumed for recreational purposes.
Qualified patients are allowed to possess a maximum of 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis at any given time. They are also permitted to cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants for personal use. This is the same as with the general public, age 21 and over; however, medical marijuana cardholders can possess additional cannabis products.
If someone is a medical marijuana cardholder, on top of the 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis they are allowed, the individual can also possess 16 ounces of cannabis that’s been infused into a solid product, as well as up to 36 fluid ounces of a liquid cannabinoid product. In addition, they are also permitted to possess up to 15 grams of cannabis concentrate.
In Michigan, individuals 21 years or older can possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis, as well as a maximum of 12 cultivated plants for personal use.
You can purchase several forms of cannabis products at a Michigan dispensary. This includes flowers and edibles, as well as topicals, concentrates, and extracts.
Compared to many other U.S. states, Michigan has some of the clearest and most specific regulations for testing cannabis products.
For instance, it is required that facilities test for vitamin E oil. This ingredient is FDA approved for topical use, but could be dangerous if used as an inhalant. Unfortunately, vitamin E oil has become a popular ingredient within illegal vape market products.
In general, the Marijuana Regulatory Agency (MRA) in Michigan ensures that all inhalable products are safe when used as directed. In addition, each ingredient must be considered an FDA-approved inhalant. To make sure that these rules are continuously upheld, the MRA performs twice-monthly inspections of facilities.
During cannabis product testing, several variables are accounted for in Michigan, including:
Cannabis users in Michigan can choose from a wide variety of strains, including different indica, sativa, and hybrid strains.
It is illegal to consume cannabis in a public space or on any property where the manager or owner doesn’t allow cannabis use. However, if a location within a particular municipality is designated for marijuana consumption, use is permitted. For cannabis to be legally consumed in these instances, the area in question must be made unavailable to any individual under 21 years old.
Public consumption of cannabis in Michigan is punishable by a fine, with each instance leading to a higher amount due.
No, it is never acceptable to use medical marijuana for any kind of recreational purpose. If cannabis has been prescribed as a treatment, it should be consumed only by the qualified individual for whom the prescription was written. It is expected that anyone who uses medical marijuana is under the care of a trained physician.
Fortunately, in Michigan, recreational cannabis use is legal for adults over the age of 21.
Whether cannabis was used recreationally or for medical purposes, an individual should never drive after consumption. In either instance, the individual is considered to be driving under the influence. Medical marijuana will not protect you from DUI laws.
In the state of Michigan, a first-time cannabis DUI arrest can lead to a maximum of 93 days in prison or a fine between $100 and $500. However, rather than a fine, some offenders may be ordered to complete 360 hours’ worth of community service.
However, the more strikes an individual receives, the more severe the penalties for a DUI. If the offender experiences three or more arrests within the span of seven years, they will face felony charges, as well as substantial fines and even prison time.
Michigan was one of the earlier states to legalize the medicinal use of cannabis. Since 2008, medical marijuana has been legal in the state. This was due to the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act, which was approved by voters that same year.